The Birth of ElektroPR and How Music Saved My Life

I get asked a lot about how I got inspired to randomly jump into curating live music shows and I’d thought I would share what led to start my journey. I believe everything happens for a reason and you meet certain people for a reason. Back in the summer of 2010 I had stumbled upon a band called Radio Freq online and noticed they were having a show at the Silverlake lounge in June 2010. So I headed out there and fell in love with the live show. There I met Cliff Magreta since he was part of the band. I immediately had to buy their rad vinyl record they had for sale. Soon after I stayed connected with Cliff online. In November of the same year I happened to be able to go to a private party at Blake Miller home and ran into Cliff again. I decided to reach out to Cliff again and saw that he had started a project called Minutes til Midnight. I fell in love with the music and offered to help promote it online and promote future shows. I was a bit rusty since I had no idea what I was doing, but later got the hang of it and with some of Cliffs guidance and ideas I felt comfortable and fell in love with helping a local band. Cliff helped inspire my now nickname “Betty Elektro” and from there there was ideas of promoting the band with some sort of promotion name behind it. As I did things on my own something hit me in the summer of 2012 and I told myself I had to work on shows and what I didn’t know what to do, I would learn and keep going. So I did and I gave birth to Elektro-PR. It was all meant to be, it was my fate. I will never forget where everything started and that was all thanks to a cool local band and a guy that gave me a chance to learn something about myself and bring something out of me that was there all along and it changed my life. Honestly it saved my life after leaving a very unhealthy relationship with a verbally abusive man, I felt like I had nothing left. Music came into my life in an amazing way and it revived me and it reminded me that I had more to give and all the emotional scars I had, could be healed. It led me to amazing friends through starting this up and reconnecting with amazing people. Music does save lives and it saved mine.

radio freq

Leave a comment